International Sanskrit Examination Resource

Starting Sanskrit at primary level


This is a tried and tested course which is easy for teachers to deliver and a delight for pupils to follow from Class 1. Description of textbook series  Overview of course    

The focus is on story-telling, incorporating elements of timeless wisdom.  Younger pupils, in particular, are inspired by chanting verses from the Bhagavad Gita and the Rig Veda.  

Each lesson can be divided into 3 sections: some chanting, an introduction to a new grammatical point or story translation, and then some quiet individual work on exercises and stories from the workbook. 

Students become familiar with simple Sanskrit sentences, giving them a firm basis for development of fluent Sanskrit speaking later on. Students who know Indian languages will progress more quickly through the stages shown below.


Course details ...... 

Inside textbooks - academic details    Values approach  This is just a few points about the beginning of the course. If you would like to hear more about the 'values' approach to Sanskrit learning, please contact 


Details needed for ordering published textbooks: click here  

Free videos accompany these books - see the side menu. If your school would like a free DVD please contact ISER. Teachers may apply to ISER for answer books.


   Sanskrit is Fun, books 1, 2 & 3 and alphabet playing cards: ages 4 to 6 years

   The Stories of Krishna, parts 1 & 2: ages 6 to 8 years

   The Stories of Rama, parts 1 & 2: ages 8 to approx 10 years


   Mahabharata Stories, books 1 to 3: age 10 to 13 years These books are modern, student-friendly study books.

   IGCSE Parts One & Two: age 14 to 16 years  (available to download free)


In addition, students must study:


   The Sanskrit Epic Civilization Course: age 14 to 16 years designed to be taught alongside the books listed above. Also, the Literature Study Aid which covers the Set Literature for the IGCSE examination.

For more detail, please see the 'Starting at Secondary Level' page.


Older senior course books are available free from this website:

    St James Sanskrit Course Book 1, including the teaching of Sandhi:  age 11/12 years (available to download free)

   St James Sanskrit Course Book 2, including teaching of Sandhi:  age 13/14 years (available to download free)

   St James Sanskrit Course Book 3:  age 14 to 15 years (available to download free)

Note that the books listed above do not contain the literature for the current IGCSE examination.



 Last update: 27.10.19